Life · Music

Obsession

Now, I want to list down my current obsessions!

(I’ll exclude things like having marriage, great career , happy healthy family and so on, I mean like who does not want to have all of these happen to their life, right? so I won’t put them)

1. Learning Piano (again) and afford piano (again)

Thing I regretted the most is quitting from piano course. I started learning piano in kindergarten and decided to quit in 4th grade of elementary school. At that time, I did not get any excitement at all doing piano. I felt like I was forced by my parents and all I wanted to do was just playing with my friends. I was so lazy to attend the class every twice a week and practiced at home. Since the course I entered was a formal institution so the system was pretty strict, very discipline and all they taught were just classic music, including we had to learn the history as well so I was so bored . There were concerts and final exam (both practice and written) which we had to perform in every terms if we wanted to move to the next grade. And you know what? believe it or not, compared to my sisters who had interest more in piano, I always got higher score than them! They even ever accelerated my grade because of my (unpredictably) outstanding result compared to other students in my class (although they took me back again to my actual grade because I cried when I entered the first class with strangers that older than me, hahaha!)

After 6 years, my interest in piano still zero, and finally my mother gave up and told the teachers that I wont continue the class. My mother said all the teachers were disappointed. They admitted that I was lazy (that’s why I got scolded a lot LOL) but they saw a big potential in me so they were hoping me to change my mind. But I did not and still sure that was the best way.

Actually I started regretting my decision not too long after I quit. only 2 years later. I realized I got praised a lot by people around me until now. I started thinking piano is such a great asset for me because not many people can do that and I wasted my opportunity with my own pleasure. this is so SAD!

If I think about it again now, I would say 99% the problem was in me. On that time, I was so defensive saying that my load activities for elementary student was too much. Well, aside school and piano, I had another courses like swimming, kumon (mathematics course), tennis, english course, and reading qur’an. I did most of them by force without even trying to love it and to know the good side of them. Maybe this is something challenging for every parents to always put understanding first when they want to introduce and apply new things to their children. Put their mind set on the right track is very important so their children would do that with their heart.

Now, I am dying to learn piano again. I love listening to the musics and every songs that has strong piano sound will never fail to impress me and always want to play it by myself. Gratefully, I still can play a few of my songs that was used for concerts on piano course so I do not feel that dumb but still, I am so dumb for letting that wonderful opportunity gone.

Please pray for me that one day I will be able to afford piano or just keyboard which is cheaper (FYI, my piano had been sold T_T) and learn piano properly so I can improve my skill again.

So, this is one of my favorites and Im sure all of you who read this will agree with me! this is Yiruma with his spectacular work “River Flows in You”.  Enjoy!

2. Puzzle

I love puzzle. I got a lot of puzzles as my birthday presents when I was in elementary school from only 4 pieces to thousands. Not just me but also my mother is in love playing puzzle. But that hobby has stopped for a while when I entered high school. Starting in university until now, I started playing it again but sadly only by application from facebook games and android play store, not real T_T

After that, my interest keeps getting higher and higher and I really miss playing with the real one. Since many of my puzzles are gone like I dont have any idea to where they were gone, I planned to buy it again and start collecting again. I know it is not that cheap, so, I need to save up more my monthly salary. Everything is getting so expensive now *sigh*

3. Dancing

Unlike the first 2 obsessions I’ve mentioned, this last one is the most familiar in my life experience. I joined traditional dance club in senior high school and actively participated in any competitions or performed at events but at that time, I still had no much obsession to learn more about dance. In university, I joined Marching Band club as a color guard, the visual role who play with the flag in dance movement. From these 2 experiences, I got pretty much basic knowledge about dancing and started to enjoy my body movement in dancing. I love it because it is healthy of course, give a good shape for your body, very fun especially when you do with your favorit song, and we do not need many properties. just me against the music! so it is pretty simple.As a girl who is lazy to do sport, by dancing I can burn calories too in a very fun way without feeling like I’m working out.

Sometimes I regret too why I did not learn dancing properly when I was young. Other than the happy feeling when I dance, I also very love being on stage and perform in front of audiences. If only I learned it earlier, that opportunity would came more than what I got now. But that is alright. Just now, I want to keep dancing and plan to join some dance class or just dance fitness like zumba or u-jam more, as long as I still can move my body together with music.

Bonus: girls in these videos below are one of the reason I started loving dancing. seeing how they dance just makes me like wanna do that too because they are so cool and impressive. That’s why I also learned and can do some of their dance choreography. They are, the one and only my best idol: Girls’ Generation! 😀

(the videos I put here are from their special dance stage performances, music videos and dance competitions show. if you have times, make sure to watch all of them. trust me, I  disliked them at first because I judged them without trying to know about them like their song, their music videos, and talent. just thought they only push their perfect body and face. But after watched some of their videos, there is no a day I skip their song on my ipod and watch their video on youtube! I adore these talented girls like crazeehhh)

Thank you for reading! so, what is your obsession?

N

Leave a comment